Top 20 Songs of 2010

This is a few days late getting this up here, but I wanted to wait until I had shared this mix with some people and I didn’t want it to “leak.” See, one of my friends recently started a  mix CD trading club, and when one of the people designated to make a mix for this week’s meeting was stumped and didn’t want to do it, I volunteered. I’d already started putting together my list of the best tracks of the year, mostly because I don’t ever listen to enough new albums enough times to put together a best albums of the year list. I did that once, and it was really good, but that was back when I was in college and worked in College Radio. I had to listen to a million new albums all the time. But now I’m a Grown Up and I don’t have the time or energy or enthusiasm to listen to that much new stuff. That’s really hard unless you work at a radio station or a magazine or a record store or something. I just watch Law & Order: SVU all the time. But even if I only listened to, say, 25 new albums over the course of 2010, that’s about 350 songs, plus other things I hear around the place. So let’s say I heard 500 new songs this year, one way or another (probably on Glee). That’s a pretty good pool to pull 20 songs from! And so, without further ado, my top 20 tracks of 2010!

20. “The Crime Machine” by the Brunettes (Paper Dolls)
19. “Blazin f/t Kanye West” by Nicki Minaj (Pink Friday)
18. “Jail La La” by the Dum Dum Girls (I Will Be)
17. “You Must Be Out of Your Mind” by the Magnetic Fields (Realism)
16. “I’m Not Living in the Real World” by Belle & Sebastian (Write About Love)
15. “My Arms Don’t Bend That Way, Dammit!” by Let’s Wrestle (In the Court of Wrestling, Let’s)
14. “Get-to-Bed Birds” by the Lucksmiths (Get-to-Bed Birds 7″)
13. “Committed” by Jenny & Johnny (I’m Having Fun Now)
12. “Ridin’ in My Car” by She & Him (Volume Two)
11. “Cold Love” by Tim Kasher (The Game of Monogamy)
10. “The End of the World is Bigger than Love” by Jens Lekman (“The End of the World if Bigger than Love” single)
9. “Romance is Boring” by Los Campesinos! (Romance is Boring)
8. “Boyfriend” by Best Coast (Crazy For You)
7. “Fembot” by Robyn (Body Talk Pt. 1)
6. “LEAVE!” by VV Brown (Travelling Like the Light)
5. “Fuck You” by CeeLo (the Ladykiller)
4. “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith (single)
3. “Indestructable” by Robyn (Body Talk)
2. “Zebra” by Beach House (Teen Dream)
1. “Telephone f/t Beyonce” by Lady Gaga (“Telephone” single)

If you have none of these tracks, you can even download the whole playlist from iTunes!

About sarah kathleen

I'm a librarian. I like cats more than anything except tacos.
This entry was posted in music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

